Success…

There is wonderful book named “Man’s search for meaning” written by Victor Frankl. Frankl is a world renowned psychiatrist. He was a Jew and endured some very difficult years in Nazi concentration camps including the infamous Auschwitz camp. During his days in the death camp, seeing human suffering of the highest order at close quarters, and himself experiencing it, he developed a revolutionary approach to psychotherapy known as logotheraphy. At the core of this theory is the belief that man’s primary motivational force is his search for meaning for his suffering and life at large. He quotes Nietzche , “He who has a why to live can bear with almost any how”.

One of the most interesting piece of this book comes in the introduction. It is on ‘success’. Here is it:

“Success, like happiness, cannot be pursued; it must ensue, and it only does so as the unintended side-effect of one’s personal dedication to a cause greater than oneself or as the by-product of one’s surrender to a person other than oneself. Happiness must happen, and the same holds for success; you have to let it happen by not caring about it. I want you to listen to what your conscience commands you to do and go on to carry it out to the best of your knowledge. Then you will live to see that in the long run – in the long run, I say! – success will follow you precisely because you had forgotten to think of it.”

I cannot honestly say that I live true to these words. But I have observed one thing in my life – that whenever I had enjoyed doing what I do just for the sake of doing it without thinking of the results, I invariably do well. I am trying though to make such happenings more frequent in my life!

More pearls from this book in later blogs.. 

4 thoughts on “Success…

  1. Gr8 work Mani.. very noble thoughts indeed.
    they r not only noble, but they also look very true.
    .. and as u ve said, even i feel that whenevr i ve done wrk seriously n out of passion, ive achieved success, if not always, atleast most of the times. and for those times when i may nt hav achieved, it only means that my devotion or passion was not complete in all its sense which i perfectly accept.

    one very intersting aspect of what uve written is about doing things out of love n passion and not with the objective of achievement. This i think is exactly wher we fail, coz we set our targets even before we set ourselves to work. This actually hinders our performance in 2 ways: firstly makes us focus more on the ends and less on the means n the quality of work , and secondly, it puts a fullstop to our wrk the moment we reach our target. Its possible that we could have done bettr or performed beyond the target had such limits not been placed before the start of the task

    waiting for more prophetic thoughts to follow…

  2. thanks jag..but these noble or prophetic thoughts are not mine…they are frankl’s..:)
    i personally though feel that setting targets to start with is not bad as long they do not become the end by themselves..they should be like the lighthouse guiding us..but the real excitement is in the journey…hey thats the name of my blog too 🙂 (this is called force fitting)..and that is what should get our attention..

  3. Yes…i am living the blog right now…I had written a comment earlier…wit a lot of passion…tat got erased…now unable to find the same passion & flow again…anyway…trying to join the broken pieces of the mirror of my thoughts again:)…

    I fully endorse that work for the sake for work, work out of the love for work is the one of the highest order. Good work is in itself its reward. The satisfaction that one gets from a job well done far exceeds material benefits that the society may shower.

    I have lived and experienced this in many ways…from a silly e.g – I studied from Kotler for my marketing course, rather than mug a few slides, though I knew my marks would suffer…only because I liked to do it, and wanted to study the right way….I am not exagerrating when I say, I loved the horrible marks that I got. It was a vindication of of a conviction, and love for a work. I have experienced many exhilarating moments in a past position of responsibility ONLY because of the love of my work, and not the material benefits that it could give.

    We just need to listen to our hearts more, success and other peripheral things will happen:)

Leave a Reply

